Check, check and check

Posted on Updated on

A bit more than 48 hours away from boarding the first leg of our around the world trip to Uganda, and we’re sorta, kinda ready…maybe.

I just popped the first Malaria pill I’ll be taking throughout our trip, and for a month after we get home (doctor’s orders). That, for me, was just another of many signs (as if I needed any) that we’re really, truly going.

Bonnie and I both did a semi dry-run, as far as packing personal items we’d be taking, but sometime between this afternoon and Thursday morning we have to get real serious, as Thursday afternoon we’re heading to Dallas for the night.

Our flight out of DFW leaves at 11:00 AM Friday, but we’ll be staying at a hotel near the airport, and have already paid to park our truck at the hotel for the three weeks we’re on the road. We figured, with the almost daily thunderstorms, flood warnings, construction, and morning rush-hour traffic it’d be best if we meandered over to Dallas a day before, instead of taking a panic-stricken and white-knuckle drive the morning of our flight.

Chat Noir, the black cat, will be an indoor cat while we’re gone. Plenty of food and water, two (2) litter boxes, and a neighbor friend is checking in on him. He usually sleeps most the time anyway, so we imagine when we get back he’ll look at us and ask, “Oh, have you been gone?”

The dogs will be dropped off with their sitter on Thursday. We’re sure they’ll be traumatized by the time they’ve been rescued, and Bonnie is positive Chloe and Gidget, while ecstatic we’re back, will also be pouting for a while after we get home.

Bonnie will be completing her nursing home ministry this morning and we’ll both be at Adoration after that. The rest of the day, we have some final (I hope) running around to do; a few last purchases at JoAnn’s so Bonnie can finish off a couple things she’s working on for the children we’re visiting, Bonnie has to get her nails done, and I have to visit Fuzzy’s for a few pre-trip tacos.

I might wash a final load of clothes, mostly so I can get most of the dog hair off the fleece jacket I’m wearing on the plane.

I’d better quit now, so I can obsess about something else for the next couple days.

Leave a comment